I am learning about myself that I am not a very good multi-tasker. Oh sure, I can get a lot of things done simultaneously, but if there is to be any measure of quality or soul investment in the things I am doing, my focus must be singular. If not, I sit down, after possibly having accomplished much, and realize I did not experience a single moment of meaning in my toil.

For me, it is about maintaining a singularity of focus that enables me to sustain a God directed line of thought as I labor. If the task is menial and does not require a lot of mental energy to accomplish, my soul finds meaning as I allow my mind to praise and offer up silent prayers, attempting to do even the mundane things with excellence. As a younger woman these types of duties seemed to monopolize my time and some days I just wanted to scream out in frustration from the repetitive drudgery. Now, I treasure them as “free mind time” and savor the moments, lacking mental clutter, which provide time for a private dialogue with my Savior, friend as I work.

If the duty is more intellectually engaging, I exercise my mental capacities, breathing deeply on occasion, asking assistance as I whisper prayers of, “Lord, be my help as I do this thing.” God enters the work of my life in these ways. Afterwards, at the end of my day when I function with focus, I may be spent, but I have a sense of investment not waste. A feeling of tired not weary sends me to the night’s restorative rest to wake and repeat with the next morning’s sun.

However, just let me attempt to take the multi tasker’s approach for an extended period of time, and although I may be firing on all cylinders, a heavy question of “What’s the point?” begins to plague my soul. The things I set my hands to do seem to turn around and mock me with meaninglessness. Distraction drives my mind to fill with doubts of purpose, because I am no longer inviting the Spirit to permeate my plans. I find myself like a cartoon character hastily darting here and there with a caption that reads, “ I have no idea where I am going, but I am sure I am going to get there fast!”

My take on life and labor can become very cynical when the perspective on work appears as the insurmountable pile of dirty laundry and the never ending drone of the washer and dryer. The call to wash, dry, fold, repeat can echo the feelings of futility for all that is done as I work “under the sun”. But then I find that God has a redemptive plan for my work. He has a plan to bring himself glory through my grind. The wisdom of Ecclesiastes 9:10 conveys it in this admonition,” Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might,” The perspective change I need seems discerned in the final word “might”. When I am focused, purposeful, exercising my full strength or might, I engage in my work in a manner pleasing to the Father. As I recognize His strength as necessary to accomplish my work, I have an ability to worship as His provision abounds. Paul identifies this sanctifying concept in the New Testament verse, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.” Colossians 3:23

Just as the widows mite (Mark 12:41-44 ) ,if the work represents giving my best, the size nor the seeming value matters in determining its worth to God. The manner in which I work matters much more to the Lord than the dynamic of the task at hand.

The fight, then, is in maintaining perspective. Am I more concerned with pressing my performance into this world’s mold of a multi-tasked, distracted drudgery that grows discontent in the soul and steals glory from the one for whom I labor? Or will I fight for focus, which elevates my endeavors as praiseworthy and purposeful offerings in the daily tasks? I believe I will choose to work MIGHTily over MULTI-tasking, maintaining a single-minded devotion in my labor as unto the LORD